mspammy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My achey breakey back.

Having a bad back sucks. Having a bad back which makes you take off work unpaid sucks more. And having a bad back that makes you take off work unpaid, while your favorite message forums are down sucks to the extreme.

I have scoliosis, a slipped disc, a missing vertebrae and one of my legs is longer than the other which makes my hips uneven. Though I sound like a freak of nature, these things don't cause me much pain most of the time.

But when they do, I'm bent over like a little old man. I can't stand, can't sit normally, can't straighten out. Basically, I could lay curled up. But not too curled up. And not for too long.

::sigh::

When I went to work on Tuesday (4/27), I felt okay. A little off, but I thought that was normal due to the wacky weather we've been having. By eleven, my lower back was on fire and I was totally nauseous. I left at noon and ended up being home the rest of the week.

Fun, fun, fun. I had sixteen hours of sick time to use, but that leaves me with twelve hours unpaid on my check next week. Damn.

I went to the doctor on Thursday and got prescriptions for muscle relaxer and big ol' 800mg pills of Motrin. I've been wearing Thermacare wraps for days. The doctor thinks that I strained or sprained something, but I don't think so because I was just working at my desk when it came on.

Which reminds me, I've kind of enjoyed not being at work, even though I have been in pain.

5:27 p.m. - Saturday, May. 01, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: