mspammy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Other than that, it was the best weekend ever!

We planned a trip to Evansville this weekend to see the parental units. Halfway there, just outside of downtown Louisville, KY, at about 8pm or so, my radiator blew up. We called AAA, but had to wait on the side of the road for an hour and a half before our tow came. And said tow guy was totally confused about where he was taking us. So, we got to see quite a bit of Louisville. Tow guy took us to service shop that was open until midnight.

We went across the street to eat at Applebees while they checked out the car. Levi saw one of his friends (this is a weird coincidence) standing outside the restaurant, and said friend offered to let us stay at his house. I have no idea who this guy is and even if I did, I was not in the mood to be charming and friendly. Or stay up half the night listening to them talk and play video games, and then be rewarded with a couch to sleep on. So, I had to (as politely as I could) let the guy know that I'd prefer a hotel. He left after a bit. Levi says he was offended, but I honestly could not have handled it. I'll bake cookies for the next LAN party to make it up to the guy.

At quarter till midnight, service station guy takes us to a Holiday Inn up the street, and service guy leaves before we go in. Strange foreign desk clerk tells me they have no rooms. Oh, joy. And then he stands there staring at me until I ask if, maybe, he could give me a phone book so I could start calling around. That reminds him that he is a desk clerk and there are other Holiday Inns in the world. Another HI has only a suite available and they'll send the mini-bus over to get us. I'm sold, even though it's more than I'd like to pay. (Read: $115 more than the free room at Dad's house.)

Scary old man mini-bus driver really doesn't want to go back to work and takes us on really long tour of residential neighborhoods to get back to the hotel. (Just what I wanted to do at midnight after my car's blown up and I'm stuck in Louisville.) We get checked in no problem, but suite is disappointment. We don't have cable, so that was probably the coolest thing about it. Check out was fine and mini-bus guy got us back to the service station in under five minutes.

Car was fixed, but an expensive $430. A/C didn't work because they killed my freon somehow, but didn't let us know. Yay, 2+ hour drive in July! Got to Evansville with no problems, and bought freon to put in car. Car was idling funny, so Dad and Levi went out to fiddle with it. Car started to overheat again. More fiddling.

Car seemed okay on Sunday morning. Drove to breakfast across town - no problems. Came out from breakfast - more problems. More fiddling. Car seems fixed so Mom and I try to go to Target. Car overheats on the way there.

I am not happy.

But my mom buys me fun socks while Levi and Dad drive overheating car to service station.

Service station that can't look at it until Monday. And Levi and I both HAVE to be at work on Monday. And work in four hours away. Hell.

We debate for quite a while about what the best route to take, and end up deciding to rent a car to get back. Rental car makes me dislike my stupid blowing up car even more. Who knew a Nissan Sentra was nice?

Car shop calls today and says that the repair is going to be $60, and they'll have it done in no time. Dad goes and pays for it, even though we told him not to. And even though it's not his car, the shop lets him take it home. (Ah, small town life.)

So my car's fixed, but we are planning on trading it in soon. Levi says that he's found a 1999 Sebring convertible for me. I'm SO ready.

Other than all of the icky car stuff, it was a great visit with my parents. And not only because they felt bad about the car blowing up on the way to visit them. And not because the guilt made them press checks into our hands.

10:55 p.m. - Monday, Jul. 19, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: