mspammy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No blowdry for you!

I woke up at 6:20 this morning. Then I went back to bed and planned to actually get up at 6:40 when I absolutely have to get moving.

Then the power went off at 6:30. No fan, no humidifier, no alarm to let me know when to get up. And it's dark. Because it's early. And my bathrooms are in the center of the house so there's no windows to let in light.

I decided to just stay in bed until the sun came up or the power came back on.

Which it did at 7:05. I jumped up and ran to hurry through my shower and other morning ablutions. Levi went down to the kitchen to whip up our morning coffee.

Then the power went back off. After I was already in the shower and in the middle of washing my hair. Levi came back a defeated barista.

So, I showered in the dark. Levi offered to stand outside the curtain and hold a flashlight over the top, but I declined. That just seemed weird. And I was afraid he'd drop the flashlight.

Anyway, I finished my shower, scrubbed my face and brushed my teeth. Carefully chose clothing with flashlight. Then head banged for a while trying to get my hair dry. Haven't done that in a while...

The drive to work was fun. Lot of traffic lights were out, and even though people were driving, everything seemed asleep.

Got to work at five till eight. Start to wander around in the dark with other employees and the lights come on at 7:59.

Like I couldn't have used a bit of fun play in the dark time this morning.

10:30 p.m. - Thursday, Apr. 15, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: