mspammy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Movies, movies, movies.

My husband was out of town over the weekend for a chemistry thing in Bowling Green, Ohio. Bowling Green is, apparently, just as exciting now as it was two and a half years ago when we visited to check out the grad school program there.

Friday kind of sucked. We woke up late (stupid alarm forgot to turn itself on), work was long and I had no plans for the evening. So, at five, I hit Starbucks for an enormous toffee nut frappuccino. Yee-ummy.

Starbucks is ever so handily located right next to a Hollywood Video. A Hollywood Video currently running a 3 for $25 sale on all previously viewed dvds. Oh, my golly.

Anyone who knows me understands that I have a serious shopping problem. Not for shoes or other girly accessories, but for books, movies, and paper crafting supplies that I never use. I was obviously lead into Friday's temptation by evil strip mall engineers.

::sigh::

Half an hour and fifty dollars later, I left with six new movies, and only one was a film I already had on VHS. FTR, my newest dvd babies are: Chocolat (anyone want it on VHS?), Intacto, Bread and Tulips, The Four Feathers, Nowhere in Africa, and The Sleeping Dictionary. Judging from the prices on Amazon, I don't feel so bad about the $50.

So, since Levi's away, I watched movies and read a lot this weekend. I've only watched four of the six purchased on Friday. Intacto and Nowhere in Africa have joined the pile of to-be-watched. (Soon, this pile will rival my to-be-read stack, I think.) The other four are, basically, movies about finding yourself and discovering how you fit, or don't, into the world around you. The most interesting and confusing, to me, was The Four Feathers. I haven't decided what the lesson is, yet, maybe because I'm looking at it with eyes based in 2004.

The lead fellow, Harry decided not to go to war because he didn't understand or believe in the cause. As a result, three close friends and his fiancee deem him a coward, and give him four white feathers signifying cowardice. His fiance dumps him. The friends go off to fight. While they're gone, Harry sees report after report of how the fight isn't succeeding. The feathers haunt him, and so he decides to sneak off after his friends to help them survive the mission. I'll let you guess what happens after that...

Like I said, I'm not sure what the moral is in this story. In the extras, the director says the movie is all about Harry finding himself and becoming a man. I'm a bit lost on what exactly changed in him. Is it more important to stand up for your beliefs, even if it is lack of belief, or is what others think of us more important than what we think of ourselves sometimes? Harry wasn't a pacifist, but he didn't understand the point of fighting in a desert far away from England. Also, and I may have thought of this because I watched Thirteen last weekend, but I've never really understood going along with friends (or sneaking along in this case) who you think are in the wrong just to protect them. Is it okay to let people act in a way you don't agree with as long as you're there to help them make things okay?

I don't get it. I think I need to read the book.

9:25 p.m. - Monday, May. 17, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: